How building my online portfolio gave me the confidence boost I needed

It’s not every day I post my long-winded, personal thoughts on social media. But today I will.

For my Principles of Public Relations course this semester, I’m required to put together an online portfolio as a class assignment. It’s due this Monday. I initially set it up in September but went back to it today to give it updates and some TLC before sending my professor the link.

I don’t want to say “wow, I’m really proud of myself,” but I will say this: I am capable of accomplishing far more than I give myself credit.

When I first set out as a college student (particularly when I transferred to USF) I was equally wide-eyed with excitement as I was with caution. I declared an English major, but what was next? I was at a well-known university, but what did that mean for my career? I literally had no idea. No. Stinking. Idea. It wasn’t until my spring semester of junior year that I finally found some direction.

I declared a minor in mass communications and dove right in to heavy coursework regarding the history of media, how they have developed into the present day and how to navigate the constant and continual evolution. Since then, I have been writing non-stop for school. Without searching for it, I also picked up two part-time jobs as a content writer for two different companies.

I graduate in May and I still don’t really know what I want to do when I grow up. But you know what I’m realizing more and more each day? That’s okay. In every job I’ve ever worked and every class I’ve ever been enrolled in, I’ve tried to treat that thing like it was my dream career. That’s not even a little bit easy, but it is possible. It is what has given me the hard, determined work ethic I have today.

I’ve felt so challenged lately by school, work and life in general. It wasn’t until I tidied up my online portfolio today that I was reminded of these simple truths: God is in control. He is leading me in ways I can’t always see. He has big plans for me. I am not alone. I am not lost. I am not afraid.

Never forget that you, too, have a purpose. You are walking this earth for a reason. You might feel like you are in a rut or a monotonous routine but don’t stop. Don’t ever stop moving and don’t ever stop searching for ways to better yourself. Even if you change the way you look at yourself in the mirror every morning – start smiling instead of staring blankly at your reflection. Take one step at a time and before you know it, you’ve walked 500 miles.

God is in control and you’ve got this.

Feel free to browse around my portfolio, if you’d like. https://laurenbroadwell.wordpress.com/

Okay, stepping off my random, personal thought soapbox now.Β Carry on.

Published by

labroadwell

| I'm learning as I go. | Proverbs 3:5-6 | My name is Lauren and I am a dreamer. I love the arts {especially the theatre} and Disney is my healthy obsession. If movie-watching was a profession, then I'd probably be a billionaire. I have a serious case of wanderlust and my biggest desire at the moment is to travel this beautiful world. I love the Lord and strive to live this life He's given me to the absolute fullest. Oh, I also sometimes wish I had a pet dragon.

Leave a Reply

