Lenten Reflections

What are you giving up for Lent?Β 

Those seven words have brought me many mixed emotions growing up. Being raised Catholic, Lent has been a regularly celebrated season in my household. I always thought I understood exactly what it was. We pick something to give up for the 40 week days in between Ash Wednesday and Easter Sunday and we suffer through it. Right?

WRONG. So wrong.

What Lent is NOT About

Lent is not about cutting things out of our lives completely for five and a half weeks and feeling miserable about it the entire time. It’s not about trying to prove to ourselves that we have self-control. It’s not about trying to impress God with our awesome ability to sacrifice material things.

It’s not aboutΒ us.Β 

Lent is about Him.

The reason we give things up for Lent is to humble ourselves before Christ. He made the ultimate sacrifice for us–He died on the cross for our sins so that we could be redeemed. Nothing can everΒ exceed that.

We make sacrifices each Lent to honor Him and glorify His most perfect, sacrificial love for us. Our small sacrifices–whether it be giving up our smart phones, cutting sweets out of our diets, unplugging our televisions, etc–are all ways in which we can draw closer to Christ.

Lent is a time of preparation. It is a solemn season, yes, but it is by no means depressing. Our sacrifices should be made with joyful hearts because they are our stepping stones toward Christ.

“If Lent was just about giving up stuff then I wouldn’t find any grace. . .

But because Lent is about life with Jesus Christ, these crosses, these small inconveniences or struggles help me grow in virtue and holiness.Β They help me become a whole person. They make me come alive.”

Ryan Miller, LifeTeen author

Are you ready to come alive with Christ this Lent?

Published by

labroadwell

| I'm learning as I go. | Proverbs 3:5-6 | My name is Lauren and I am a dreamer. I love the arts {especially the theatre} and Disney is my healthy obsession. If movie-watching was a profession, then I'd probably be a billionaire. I have a serious case of wanderlust and my biggest desire at the moment is to travel this beautiful world. I love the Lord and strive to live this life He's given me to the absolute fullest. Oh, I also sometimes wish I had a pet dragon.

9 thoughts on “Lenten Reflections”

  1. You read my mind. I just wrote a blog post about basically the same message. I’m so glad people understand the real meaning of Lent and all the graces it has I’m store!

    1. Thank you so much, Mariella! It is a new discovery for me. I used to be one of those “I’ll just give up chocolate and pine for it all throughout Lent” people. Now I understand that Lenten sacrifices aren’t about just cutting something out of our lives. It’s about, like you said in your post, establishing good habits in our walk with Christ.
      Have a blessed Lent πŸ™‚

    1. We just sang Ashes by Tom Conry this morning for Ash Wednesday, which is such a beautiful song (especially when you have a three part harmony going on…GORGEOUS). I also love the At The Cross Her Station Keeping hymn that we sing at the Stations of the Cross. My absolute favorite Lent/Holy Week song, however, is Via Dolorosa. That song never fails to give me chills.

      I’m not familiar with many other Lent songs, but now I want to look some up and learn them!
      Have a blessed Lent πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

